Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park
There is little access to Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park aside from the Tomoka River. At times there are lead interpretative hikes or historical society outings to visit the ruins. Contact the park for more information.
This site houses the ruins of a 19th century plantation owned by John Addison, which thrived from 1816 to 1836 when it was burned in the Seminole wars. The small coquina rock blockhouse was originally an outside kitchen. After the plantation was burned, the Carolina Regiment of Volunteers fortified the abandoned building for defense against further Seminole attacks. Although the foundation is from the 19th century, the upper part of the blockhouse was added in the 1920s. The site also contains the ruins of a house foundation with tabby (a mixture of lime, sand, shells, and water) floors, and a well-constructed of coquina rock. Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park is currently inaccessible, with exception of a landing along the west bank of the Tomoka River.
One of the most picturesque ruins in Volusia County is the Addison Blockhouse which lies deep in the flatwoods on the west side of the Tomoka River. This small coquina rock ruin is roofless, with one small round tower on one corner. Inside the blockhouse is a large fireplace. The walls of the building rise about six feet the tops of the walls have somewhat of a "battlemented" appearance with an embankment and bastions-like moat extending around the blockhouse.